Sewerage treatment plant in Manila Bay powered up

Chief Justice Diosdado Peralta with Sen. Cynthia Villar, Environment Secretary Roy Cimatu, and United States Amb. Sung Kim have powered up the sewerage treatment plant (STP) in Manila Bay.

Cimatu said construction of STP is pursuant to the Supreme Court’s “continuing mandamus” ordering key government agencies to clean up Mla Bay in Concerned Citizens of Manila Bay v. MMDA, et al.

Recently, the SC has reconstituted its Manila Bay Advisory Committee (MBAC) which is tasked to monitor the implementation of its 2008 decision that directed practically all government agencies, including those in law enforcement, to speed up the cleanup, restoration, and preservation of Manila Bay

Peralta, who is the chairperson of the MBAC, said the new members are SC Associate Justice Edgardo L. Delos Santos, Court Administrator Jose Midas P. Marquez, and SC Associate Justice Rodil V. Zalameda as vice chairperson and working chairperson.

Peralta announced the new members of the MBAC during the 2nd Manila Bay Task Force Principal’s Meeting and Conference at the Diamond Hotel in Manila.

The Chief Justice said the “MBAC’s main function is to maintain the mandate of the continuing mandamus and to enable the Court to verify the reports of the government agencies tasked to clean up the Manila Bay.”

“The idea is not just to comply with this tall order, but to ensure that we are on track by way of periodic updates on our progress. Concededly, this could take years, but this duty is ours in the present, and we will not relent,” he stressed.

More than 10 years ago, the SC ordered several agencies of the government to undertake a speedy cleanup, restoration, and preservation of Manila Bay.

To assure compliance with its ruling, the SC even issued a continuing mandamus – an order that compels the agencies of the government to perform acts which the laws specifically require them to do or to comply as duties emanating from the nature and mandate of their offices.

Directed to undertake immediate action on the Manila Bay problem are the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA), Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR), Department of Education (DepEd), Department of Health (DoH), Department of Agriculture (DA), Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH), Department of Budget and Management ((DBM), the Philippine Coast Guard (PCG), the Philippine National Police Maritime Group, Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG), and the Philippine Ports Authority (PPA).

Copyright © 2020 Abogado - Latest News in the Philippines