Peralta to head committee to revise Rules of Court

Follow by Email

The Supreme Court has designated Associate Justice Diosdado Peralta as working chairperson of the Committee on the Revision of the Rules of Court.

Earlier, Chief Justice Lucas Bersamin stressed that the Committee “is the most important of all the committees in the Supreme Court,” explaining that aside from deciding cases, updating the rules of court “is very basic, if not the other important function of the Court under the Constitution.

Bersamin disclosed that he “cannot entrust this Committee to any other person except to the most competent and that is no other than a Thomasian – Justice Peralta.”

For his part, Peralta accepted the challenge and vowed to have a revised Rules of Court in Civil Procedure by the third quarter of 2019.

He is looking at “simplifying rules in civil procedure, including amending the rules on evidence, pleadings and reglementary period.” Justice Peralta added that “all pleadings must be evidentiary in nature, and there must be faster service of summons.”

The other members of the Committee are SC Justices Francis H. Jardeleza, Alfredo Benjamin Caguioa, and Alexander G. Gesmundo. Also included as members are Justice Secretary Menardo I. Guevarra, Philippine Judicial Academy Chancellor Adolfo S. Azcuna and Vice Chancellor Romeo J. Callejo, Sr., and law professors Francis Ed Lim, Tranquil S. Salvador III, and Amador Z. Tolentino, Jr.

Copyright © 2019 Abogado - Latest News in the Philippines