PAO readying more Dengvaxia suits

More charges are now being readied by the Public Attorney’s Office (PAO) against individuals implicated in the deaths of school children inoculated with anti-dengue vaccine Dengvaxia.

“We will file five to six complaints this Friday,” said PAO Chief Persida Acosta.

According to Acosta, the complaints will be filed before the Justice Department on behalf of the families of the victims.

Acosta vowed to continue the filing of cases until “those responsible are brought to the bar of justice.”

Last month, PAO filed six complaints involving the deaths of children, namely, Renelyn Avellanosa, Psalm Dioquino, Lalaine Laylay, Levie Losanga, Theresa Romano, and Lennon Carl Ribo.

The respondents are accused of reckless imprudence resulting in homicide under Article 365 of the Revised Penal Code; torture resulting in the death of a person and torture committed against children under Republic Act 9745, the Anti-Torture Act of 2009; and for violating RA 7394, the Consumer Act of the Philippines, particularly, the mislabeling of drugs and devices, liability for defective products, and liability for product and service imperfection.

Among others, charged were Iloilo First District Rep. Janette Garin and Health Secretary Francisco Duque III.

Also named respondents were current and former Department of Health (DOH) officials, namely, Dr. Vicente Belizario Jr., Dr. Kenneth Hartigan-Go, Dr. Gerardo Bayugo, Dr. Lyndon Lee Suy, Dr. Irma Asuncion, Dr. Julius Lecciones, Dr. Joyce Ducusin, Dr. Herminigildo Valle, Rosalind Viianzon, Mario Baquilod; Food and Drug Administration (FDA) officials Dr. Maria Lourdes Santiago and Melody Zamudio; and officials of the Research Institute for Tropical Medicine (RITM), namely, Drs. Socorro Lupisan and Maria Rosario Capeding; Dr. Sonia Gonzales of the Philippine Children’s Medical Center (PCMC), and Dr. Raymundo Lo, a former PCMC official.

Executives of Sanofi Pastuer and local distributor Zuellig Pharma were also included as respondents. They are Carlito Realuyo, Stanislas Camart, Jean Louis Grunwald, Jean-Francois Vacherand, Conchita Santos, Jazel Anne Calvo, Pearl Grace Cabali, and Marie Esther De Antoni; from Zuellig Pharma are Kasigod Jamias, Michael Becker, Ricardo Romulo, Imran Babar Chugtai, Rayumund Azurin, Nilo Badiola, John Stokes Davison, Marc Franck, Ashley Gerard Antonio, Ana Liza Peralta, Rosa Maria Chua, Danilo Cahoy, Manuel Concio III, Roland Goco, and Ma. Visitacion Barreiro.

Copyright © 2020 Abogado - Latest News in the Philippines