New SC justices attend first flag ceremony

Newly-appointed Supreme Court Associate Justices Edgardo L. Delos Santos and Mario V. Lopez on Monday attended their first flag ceremony at the SC grounds in Padre Faura, Manila.

Also in photo were (starting third from left) SC Justices Rodil V. Zalameda, Henri Jean Paul B. Inting Jr., Amy C. Lazaro-Javier, Ramon Paul L. Hernando, Jose C. Reyes Jr., Andres B. Reyes Jr., Alfredo Benjamin S. Caguioa, Marvic M.V.F. Leonen, and Chief Justice Diosdado M. Peralta. (Courtesy of the SC Public Information Office)

Delos Santos and Lopez were recently appointed by President Duterte.

They replaced former SC justices Antonio Carpio and Francis Jardeleza who mandatorily retired last October 26 and September 26, respectively.

Delos Santos was a CA justice based in Cebu, and finished his law degree from University of San Carlos also in same province.

He served as trial court judge in Dumaguete and Bacolod before his appointment to the appeals court.

On the other hand, Lopez graduated cum laude at the San Beda College of Law, and later took his masters of law at the University of Santo Tomas.

Prior to his CA stint, Lopez served as Ombudsman prosecutor in 1985, and became a judge in Batangas in 1997.

Copyright © 2020 Abogado - Latest News in the Philippines