Duterte, Mocha Uson, Panelo included in US ban

Several Philippine government officials including President Duterte are facing a ban from entering American soil after US President Donald Trump signed into law his country’s 2020 budget.

The US budget included a provision entitled “Prohibition on Entry” which the US Secretary of State “shall apply subsection (c) to foreign government officials about whom the Secretary has credible information have been involved in the wrongful imprisonment of… Sen. Leila de Lima who was arrested in the Philippines in 2017.”

De Lima, who is now detained at the PNP Custodial Center in Camp Crame on charges of drugs, identified in her previous press releases several government officials whom she tagged as those who were responsible in concocting lies against her.

On top of list was President Duterte, and Presidential Spokesperson Salvador Panelo, online bloggers Mocha Uson, Sass Rogando Sasot, and RJ Nieto.

De Lima also named the following former and incumbent officials: former speaker Pantaleon Alvarez, former justice secretary Vitaliano Aguirre, Solicitor General Jose Calida, Public Attorney Office Chief Persida Acosta, Sandra Cam, Dante Jimenez, and Congressmen Rey Umali and Rudy Fariñas.

Copyright © 2020 Abogado - Latest News in the Philippines