Wednesday 14 November, 2018
Powered by Ajaxy

Anong ginawa niyo? Grace Poe: Plunder raps to give ex-Cabinet officials chance to explain MRT fiasco

Sharing is caring!

An opportunity to clear their names, Sen. Grace Poe on Tuesday said, referring to Cabinet officials of the previous administration now embroiled in.

Sen. Grace Poe said former Cabinet officials of the Aquino administration will have a chance to clear their names in the plunder complaint filed against them over alleged anomalous maintenance contracts of Metro Rail Transit line 3 (MRT3).

The chair of the Senate public services committee was obviously in approval of the move taken by the Department of Transportation (DoTr) to file plunder charges stemming from the Department of Transportation and Communications’ (DOTC) procurement of goods and services from Busan Universal Rail Inc. (BURI).

“I believe the DoTr (Department of Transportation) has exercised due diligence in reviewing the issues with BURI (Busan Universal Rail INc.) that were strong enough to come up with a case against those involved,” she said.

“As I have previously mentioned, we should let the axe fall where it should,” Poe said.

Poe said it was shown in a Senate inquiry that the award to BURI was anomalous and disadvantageous to the public, with the poor maintenance service and the daily technical glitches resulting to fewer functioning coaches and longer passenger queues.

“There were individuals who appeared to have favored an incompetent maintenance provider and in mismanaging the train system. We expect that the Ombudsman will act expeditiously on the case because every day of delay means distress and hardship for our riding public. We can only achieve justice for our people by making those responsible for their woes accountable,” she noted.

With the exception of former Pres. Benigno Aquino III who is not a member of the Government Procurement and Policy Board, at least nine of his Cabinet officials were made respondents in the plunder case filed by the DoTr.

Among them are former DoTC Sec. Joseph Emilio Abaya, former Interior Sec. Manuel “Mar” Roxas II, former Budget Sec. Florencio Abad, former Finance Sec. Cesar Purisima, former Energy Sec. Jericho Petilla, former Science and Technology Sec. Mario Montejo, former Defense Sec. Voltaire Gazmin, former Public Works and Highways Sec. Rogelio Singson and former Socioeconomic Planning Sec. Arsenio Balicasan.

Copyright © 2018 Abogado - Latest News in the Philippines